London Look

Being in Paris for about half of the semester so far I am starting to get a bit homesick. This weekend I headed off to London which made me feel the slightest bit at home not having a langauge barrier. I also grew up visiting my extended family quite often in London. I remember going to all the tourist spots with my family and most of all – Harrods. One of the most well-known department stores in the world.

When I was younger I loved everything about this department store. From their extravagant kids floor, the foodhall with more treats than I could imagine, and the shop with all the teddy bears. It was like a dream come true when I was younger and coming back now made me fall in love with it again.

Going from floor to floor of the different levels of women’s wear. I mean they have a section referred to as “Harrod’s Shoe Heaven.” There is more than imaginable in that place. The first floor is probably the floor that I spent the most time on during my visit this time. they have a collection of what they call the Superbrands on this floor ofr women’s wear. It is all the top designers; Prada, Alenxader MCQueen, Ralph Lauren, Céline, Balmain, Saint Laurent, Gucci, Chanel, Louis Vuitton, and the list goes on and on ! The other interesting thing about Harrod’s is that they host a variety of different pop ups of brands. They host these pop up events where they have designers or collections they don’t normally feature in the stores for a short period of time.

Now in reality I couldn’t afford to purchase anything in those extravagant floors but the most crowded area was the Harrods gift shop which I think most people find practical souvenirs and gifts. I found my favorite pieces here were the Harrods card holders and coin purses. I now have a collection of a few sizes which are great for travel and everyday use!

Leave a Reply

